Unofficial Telegram Knowledge base

Helps answer questions on how to do it in Telegram

Custom Folders let you organize your chat list into specific tabs. Include and exclude individual chats and categories for complete control.
User Bios. In Settings, add a personal description that will appear as bio text when users open your profile from chats.
Default Browser for Links. Choose a default app for opening links – either Telegram’s in-app browser, or your preferred app.
Granular Privacy Settings. Change your overall visibility and add individual exceptions for any category – such as your phone number, last seen time and more. You can add individual users and entire group chats as exceptions – settings will adjust automatically as people join and leave the group.
Passcode Lock. You can add a local passcode to your mobile or desktop app, which is required to open the chat list and see your messages. To add a passcode, go to Settings > Privacy and Security > Passcode Lock. You can set the app to automatically lock after a certain amount of time, and […]
Transfer Ownership. Give ownership of your group or channel to one of its admins by enabling all rights for that admin. (Remain Anonymous can be either disabled or enabled)
Format Text. Select text in messages or captions to add hyperlinks and change its format – or use markdown shortcuts like **bold** __italic__ ||spoiler|| and ~~strikethrough~~ On Desktop, you can also use `monospace` and “`code“` shortcuts. On MIUI devices, tap ⋮ in the top-right corner to show the formatting options.
Slow Mode. Group admins can enable slow mode in chat – setting a timer for how often each member can send a message. Admins are not affected by the timer, and slow mode can be modified at any time from the group’s Permissions page.
YouTube Timestamps. Writing a timecode like 0:02 in replies and captions opens YouTube links and Telegram videos to that exact moment.
Send When Online. You can schedule messages or media to be delivered as soon as your recipient comes online. This option only appears for users who share their Last Seen status with you (and vice versa).